Carsten Fock

02. Mai – 07. Juni 2014

Carsten Fock

Towers of the Virgin

Carsten Fock (born in 1968) invests his drawings and paintings with abstract colour formations in shapes like ‘shreds’ and figures that constantly seem to be collapsing. In a series of work processes, he fragments these figurations time and again, reassembling and transforming them for critical scrutiny.

Jochen Hempel Gallery presents recent works of the artist that assimilate fundamental themes influenced by a sojourn in the west of the United States. It was during this trip, in particular, that Fock pursued his examination of landscapes and their political and emotional character. In doing so, he extends his earlier preoccupation with the romantically transfigured Watzmann massif in the Bavarian Alps and the Obersalzberg made ‘notorious’ by Hitler.

This work is picked up again under different reference points in the wide expanses of the USA typically yearned for in the quest for freedom: at its heart is the question as to how political and sentimental characteristics in spatial landscapes can be ‘sensed’ and transformed artistically. The title of the exhibition, Towers of the Virgin, refers to a mountain range in the Zion National Park of Utah – a landscape the Mormon community marked with many a deep religious dedication such as allocating Christian names to natural sites.

The first room in the exhibition presents a series of drawings in coloured pen: complex formal works executed with the almost obsessive use of strokes in countless layers, creating a dense yet entirely abstract space. Other drawings depict subjects formed by landscapes that emerge in varying degrees of freedom out of a multilayered tangle of coloured strokes.

While working on this series, both the modes of the formal and the schematic increasingly merge into an inextricable whole. In painting the smaller gallery room entirely in manganese blue, Fock creates a cabinet-like situation – combining the individual drawings into an intense overall atmosphere.

The larger exhibition room presents a selection of paintings. In Carsten Fock’s words, their development is closely connected with his graphic work, out of which he derives the impetus for the first composition on canvas. It is pictorially implemented in a controlled, serially repeated gesture and reworked several times.

The status of the paintings is entirely ambiguous while concrete motifs become manifest in the drawings together with purely formal abstractions. Whether a painting shows a precise landscape motif, the general abstraction of a landscape or a purely formal autonomous image is left open. Cursory lines of a horizon and jotted scraps of a motif suggest references of reality although they cannot be ascertained at close sight.

The perception of the painting by the viewer is a ‘fragmented’ one comparable to a distorting hall of mirrors. Fock’s question as to whether landscape today is still a possible subject, or even a contemporary one, leads to a circular argument that always returns to its very point of departure.

Carsten Fock

02. Mai – 07. Juni 2014

Carsten Fock

Installation views

Towers of the Virgin

In seinen Zeichnungen und Gemälden durchsetzt Carsten Fock (geb. 1968) abstrakte Farbformationen mit „Gestaltfetzen“ und immer wieder einbrechenden Figurationen, die er in seriellen Arbeitsprozessen ständig fragmentiert, neu zusammensetzt und in eine kritische Revision überführt.
Die Galerie Jochen Hempel präsentiert eine Einzelausstellung mit jüngeren Arbeiten, die seine Grundthemen in der Folge eines Aufenthaltes im Westen der USA weiterentwickeln. Insbesondere setzte Fock auf dieser Reise die Auseinandersetzung mit Landschaften und ihren politischen und emotionalen Besetzungen fort. Er schließt damit an seine frühere Beschäftigung mit dem romantisch verklärten bayerischen Bergmassiv Watzmann und dem durch Hitler „geprägten“ Obersalzberg an.
In den oft als Freiheitsräumen ersehnten Weiten der USA setzt sich diese Arbeit unter veränderten Vorzeichen fort: Im Zentrum steht die Frage, wie sich politische und sentimentale Besetzungen landschaftlicher Räume „ertasten“ und künstlerisch umsetzen lassen. Der Ausstellungstitel Towers of the Virgin verweist auf ein Bergmassiv im Zion National Park in Utah – einer Landschaft, die durch die Glaubensgemeinschaft der Mormonen tiefe religiöse Einschreibungen erfahren hat, etwa in der Belegung von Naturstätten mit christlichen Namen.
Der erste Raum der Ausstellung präsentiert eine Serie von Farbstift-Zeichnungen. Hier finden sich einerseits komplexe formale Arbeiten mit einem beinahe obsessiven Auftrag von Strichen in unzähligen Schichten, die einen dichten, aber ganz ungegenständlichen Raum schaffen. Andere Zeichnungen zeigen landschaftlich geprägte Sujets, die sich in unterschiedlichen Freiheitsgraden aus dem mehrschichtigen Gewirr der Farbstriche herausschälen.
Im Zuge der Ausarbeitung dieser Serie verschränkten sich die beiden Modi des Formalen und des Gestalthaften immer stärker zu einer unauflösbaren Einheit. Fock hat eine kabinettartige Situation entwickelt, indem der kleinere Galerieraum gänzlich in Manganblau getüncht ist. Er verbindet damit die einzelnen Zeichnungen zu einer intensiven Gesamtatmosphäre.
Der größere Raum der Ausstellung präsentiert eine Auswahl von Gemälden. Fock beschreibt ihre Entstehung als eng mit seiner zeichnerischen Praxis verschränkt, aus der heraus der Impuls für die erste Komposition auf der Leinwand entsteht. Sie wird in einer kontrollierten, seriell wiederholten Geste malerisch umgesetzt und mehrfach erneut bearbeitet.
Während sich jedoch in den Zeichnungen neben rein formalen Abstraktionen auch ganz konkrete Motive manifestieren, ist der Status der Malereien gänzlich ungeklärt. Es verbleibt im Ungefähren, ob ein Gemälde ein konkretes Landschaftsmotiv, die allgemeine Abstraktion einer Landschaft oder ein rein formales, autonomes Bild zeigt. Flüchtige Horizontlinien und hingeworfene Motivreste deuten Wirklichkeitsbezüge an, die sich bei näherem Hinsehen als nicht belastbar erweisen.
Für den Betrachter „zersplittert“ damit die Wahrnehmung der Gemälde wie in einem Spiegelkabinett. Die von Fock aufgeworfene Frage, ob Landschaft heute überhaupt ein mögliches oder gar ein zeitgemäßes Sujet ist, endet in einem Zirkelschluss und wird immer wieder an ihren Ausgangspunkt zurückverwiesen.